11.03.21 - 07.04.21

“Rising Sun”

Saint-Petersburg, Form & Bronze gallery, Nevsky, 57, Corinthia Hotel

 

 

In spite of winter

Growing from the heart

A butterfly’s wings

Matsuo Bashō

Form & Bronze gallery together with SAMURAI gallery presents the exhibition “Rising Sun”, which combines the ancient art of Japan and contemporary works of art. The exhibition is part of the 21st festival “Japanese Spring in St. Petersburg”, organized by the Consulate of Japan.

The Meiji period (1868-1912) was a turning point in the history of Japan. After more than two hundred years of isolation, Japan entered the world stage, and the West became acquainted with its traditional culture for the first time. Foreigners rushed through the suddenly opened doors and enthusiastically discovered a new and unprecedented culture. Both Japanese prints and handicrafts made a huge impression on the West at the time. The exhibition at the Form & Bronze Gallery features bronze sculptures of samurai, okimono statuettes depicting gods and touching genre scenes, engravings depicting geishas and battle scenes, and a collection of netsuke.

Form & Bronze will introduce viewers to a new author – Vadim Ignatov and his terracotta sculptures “The Archer” and “Breathlessly”. Also the gallery will present monumental painting “Equestrian Samurai” by Denis Golivets, sculptures by Albert Avetissian, TAO Sergey Kondrashkin and Andrey Ostashov.

 

Walking through the exhibition, you can see what the life of the Japanese of that time was made of: the belief in the active participation of the gods in their daily affairs, so the statuettes with their images are full of life and infect emotions; the ability to enjoy simple things and be in the moment, which can be seen, looking at okimono, where a father teaches his son to walk, or two brothers play with found chickens; samurai fortitude and loyalty, honoring the traditions.

Have these values changed centuries later? Looking at how Japanese art harmonizes with modern works, one is drawn to open a collection of Basho’s hokku and unravel the secret of Japanese wisdom.

11.03.21 - 07.04.21

«Восход Солнца»

Санкт-Петербург, галерея Form & Bronze, Невский, 57, гостиница Коринтия, второе лобби

Зиме вопреки

Вырастают из сердца

Бабочки крылья

Мацуо Басё

 

Галерея Form & Bronze совместно с SAMURAI gallery представляет выставку «Восход солнца», в которой соединились древнее искусство Японии и современные произведения. Выставка проходит в рамках 21-ого фестиваля «Японская весна в Санкт-Петербурге», организованного Консульством Японии.

Период Мэйдзи (1868-1912) стал переломным в истории Японии. После более двухсотлетнего затворничества Япония вышла на мировую арену, а Запад впервые познакомился с ее традиционной культурой. Во внезапно распахнувшиеся двери хлынули иностранцы, которые с энтузиазмом открывали для себя новую невиданную культуру. Огромное впечатление в то время произвели на Западе и японская гравюра, и изделия художественных ремесел. На выставке в галерее Form & Bronze представлены бронзовые скульптуры самураев, статуэтки окимоно с изображениями богов и трогательных жанровых сцен, гравюры, запечатлевшие гейш и эпизоды сражений, коллекция нэцкэ.

Form & Bronze познакомит зрителей с новым автором – Вадимом Игнатовым и его скульптурами из терракоты «Лучница» и «Затаив дыхание». Также галерея презентует монументальное полотно Дениса Голивец “Конные самураи”, скульптуры Альберта Аветисяна, ТАО Сергея Кондрашкина и Андрея Осташова.

 

Пройдя по экспозиции, можно увидеть перед собой, из чего складывалась жизнь японцев того времени: вера в активное участие богов в их ежедневных делах, оттого статуэтки с их изображениями полны жизни и заражают эмоциями; умение радоваться простым вещам и находиться в моменте, что заметно, смотря на окимоно, где отец учит своего сына ходить, или два брата играют с найденными птенцами; самурайская стойкость и преданность, почитание традиций.

Изменились ли эти ценности спустя века? Смотря, как японское искусство гармонирует с современными скульптурами, руки так и тянутся открыть собрание хокку Басё и разгадать секрет японской мудрости.